Civil War GAR in Dawson

Civil War creates G.A.R. Post in Dawson

This article of Civil War records was taken from the Bicentennial News written for the Dawson, Nebraska Bicentennial in 1976 by Elma Heim Griffith.

 After much searching, the following records were found at the Nebraska Historical Society, Lincoln. I received a Xerox copy of all records of the Grand Army of the Republic (G.A.R.) Post 164, Dawson, Nebraska. Men who had served in the Civil War for the North who resided in our area were eligible to be members of this organization.

The Charter was issued July 19, 1883.  Following is a list of members:

H. L. Allen Josiah Hoppis
Rollin B. Allen B. D. Howard
Amaziah Ashley Wesley G. Hummel
W. A. Bacon Phillip Jenkins
Stephen C. Barlow Jacob E. Johnson
Thomas J. Beaucham Washington Lair
Hiram S. Belden Elijah T. Libbee
Frank Bobbitt Marshall L. Libbee
Daniel Brooks John McManus
Ellis W. Buser J. B. Messner
William Cade Ben F. Miles
Norman Castler Marshall Parker
B.S. Chittenden Carey Pope
James Clancy Michael Quinlan
Patrick Clancy G. W. Richardson
Alonzo Cunningham D. A. Shade
E. C. Dawson Herman J. Shire
W. H. Day A. R. Smutz
Amos E. Evans Sam Stranathen
W. E. Fiesher S. L. Umstead
J. P. Forsher W. A. Way
J. B. Henderson Thomas White
Ben Hoover George Whitman

The last report was made December 31, 1896.  There were 46 members enrolled in Post 164, but not all were permanent residents as many moved on farther west of to other communities.

   Apparently not all veterans of the Civil War joined the G.A.R. as some names were familiar in the area before the closing date of the Post.  Also from the records, there seems to have been some contention among the members, which is probably normal as is the case in many groups of today‚Äôs organizations.  Some of these men arrived here after the group ceased to meet yet were Civil War soldiers and veterans of that conflict.  I will list those here:

William Albright J. W. Harbaugh
O. E. Bachman Thomas E. Hosman
John Bacon James K. Kelly
Thomas Bracelin William L. Malone
Riley Bradley David Matten
Robert Bradley Lafayette Painter
James Brady S. L. Redwood
George Casford John Ryan
Thomas Coleman Albert Schlosser
Jasper N. Draper O. B. Smith
Lewis Draper Frederick Stoll
John Fenton W. H. Strunk
Thomas Guinn Robert A. Wood